Union meeting 

The union meeting of the Finnish Union of University Researchers and Teachers is the highest decision-making body in our organisation. The union meeting is organised twice a year: in the spring and in the autumn. In the meeting, the members and associations are represented more extensively than the Board. Each association’s number of representatives in the union meeting depends on its number of members. As of the year 2020, the union meetings of the Finnish Union of University Researchers and Teachers will primarily be organised in two languages; the representatives may choose to speak Finnish and/or English. This language policy makes us pioneers in both the Finnish trade union sector and the field of organisations.

The autumn union meeting lays out the guidelines and budget for the next year, whereas the spring meeting reviews the activities and financial statements of the previous year and decides on the formal approval of the actions of the previous year’s board. The union’s Board prepares and presents the matters in the agenda for the union meetings. If a member association wants a specific matter to be discussed at the ordinary union meeting, it must submit a justified written proposal to the board. The proposal must be submitted to the board at least 30 days prior to the union meeting.

Union Board 2023

Composition of the Board of the Finnish Union of University Researchers and Teachers 2023

Tero Karjalainen (Association of Researchers and Teachers in Eastern Finland)

Vice Presidents
Sanni Tiitinen (Tampere University Association of Researchers and Teachers) and Pauli Väisänen (The University of Oulu Academics OUTI)

Regular member Debuty member
Laura Kortesoja HYT  Tommi Mäklin HYT
Juha Ylisalo TYT Anna Karhu TYT
Matti Leppäniemi JYTTE Johanna Turunen JYTTE
Liisa Ahlava TATTE Jaana Virta TATTE
Marko Helenius 3T Jorma Laaksonen ATTE
Jussi Hyvärinen INA Kirsi Heino INA
Hanna Lempinen LATI Anna Törnroos-Remes FFÅA
Meri Jalonen SATY Ville Kellokumpu OUTI