TATTE asked Academic Board electoral candidates about their views on university democracy

The election for the Tampere University Academic Board are from 18 to 29 November, 2021. TATTE supports strong university democracy and encourages its eligible members to run in the elections. The Academic Board has power in university decision-making in relation to e.g., electing board members, degree requirements and regulations and plans for curricula. In addition, the Academic Board follows the whole of the academic matters in the university.

Tatte invited all members who have decided to stand as candidates to introduce themselves on our website. You can read about the views of Mikko Poutanen (candidate number 25), Jani Hakkarainen (candidate number 38), Hanna Kuusela (candidate number 42) and Sinikka Torkkola (candidate number 49) on our website in Finnish. The candidates are a part of the University Democracy electoral list, which you can read more about here.

“As referred to in the Finnish Universities Act, the Academic Board is a multi-member governing body that represents our entire university community. As set out in the University Regulations, the Academic Board comprises 19 members: 8 professors, 6 representatives of teaching and research staff and support staff, and 5 student representatives.

The term of Tampere University’s first Academic Board runs from 1 April 2018 to 31 December 2021. The next Academic Board elections will take place in the autumn of 2021.” (Tampere University intranet page).

Voting will take place online via the University intranet page during working hours (8 AM to 4 PM) from 18 to 19 November, 2021.